Stay connected & join/follow us on

Latest News

2019 Weightlifting Tasmania Annual Awards

2019 Weightlifting Tasmania Annual Awards

Dec 09 2019

The Annual Awards Function of Weightlifting Tasmania was held 7 December 2019 at the Motor Yacht Club of Tasmania, Lindisfarne. It was exceptionally pleasing to see that the event was attended by 70 persons, the highest number in Weightlifting Tasmania's history.

The Awards Function followed the final of the 2019 Presidents Cup, a series of Weightlifting competitions held at intervals through the year. It was a day of records in total participation and athletic performance. The total number of participants was 59, the highest ever in a single competition, 18 of whom set state records.

As can be seen from the picture above, there are many awards to present at the Annual Awards event. While individual place-getters in categories are presented with medals immediately after various championships and tournaments through the year, overall best athlete awards are presented at the Annual Awards event. In addition, winners of all divisions in the Presidents Cup series are determined only after the final round and are also presented with awards at the Annual Awards event.

Here are the winners of perpetual trophies and shields:

AWARD 1: Chris Chugg Memorial Shield, held at WAT on 2nd March

Overall: 1st Sean Fitzgerald2nd Lincoln Bowman, 3rd Mick Pickrell

AWARD 2: Masters Championships, held at Crossfit Levitate, 19th January

Women: 1st Tegan Kirkpatrick

Men: 1st Michael Pickrell

AWARD 3: State Senior Championships,  held at Crossfit Levitate, 06 April

Women: 1st Darcy Elliston,

Men: 1st Zac Millhouse

AWARD 4: State U20 and U23 Championships,  held at WAT, 25th May

Men: U23: 1st Ben Spinks (Upgraded from U20)

Women: U23: 1st Darcy Elliston

Men: U20: 1st Ryan Dudman

Women: U20:  1st Hannah Pickrell

AWARD 5: Youth Championships,  held at Crossfit Levitate, 27th July

Women: U15: 1st Hannah Pickrell

Men: U15: 1st Phoenix Calvert

Women: U17:  1st Hannah Pickrell

Men: U17: 1st Zac Morrisby

AWARD 5: Cliff Joyce Memorial, held at Crossfit Levitate, 19 October

Overall: 1st Ryan Dudman, 2nd Michael Pickrell, Katie Pickering


Men: Best Open Age: 1st Ben Spinks, 2nd Ryan Dudman, 3rd Michael Pickrell

Women: Best Open Age: 1st Darcy Elliston, 2nd Jennifer Carter, 3rd Tegan Kirkpatrick

Men: Best U20: Ben Spinks

Women: Best U20: Monique Brooks

Men: Masters: Michael Pickrell

Women: Masters: Melissa Hanson

Men: Novice U17: Zac Morrisby

Women: Novice U17: Monique Booth

Men: Novice Open: Caleb Lucas

Women: Novice Open: Monique Brooks

Most Improved Novice U17: Jade Gluskie

AWARD 7: Best and Fairest

Male: Ryan Dudman             Female:  Annaliese Owen            Overall: Ryan Dudman

AWARD 8: Citizenship Award

Nominees: Annaliese Owen, Doone Jones, Roman Kisselev, Jacinta Keating, Matt Newman, Beth Isaac, Melissa Hanson, Robert Gotts

Winner: Beth Isaac


My Membership| Copyright © 2012| Site by Australian Weightlifting Federation |